Poltical prisoners pardoned in Azerbaijan! | Den norske Helsingforskomité

Political prisoners pardoned in Azerbaijan!

Political prisoners pardoned in Azerbaijan!

By a presidential decree today 13 political prisoners have been pardoned for release. We are thrilled to inform you that Rasul Jafarov, Tofig Yagublu, Anar Mammadli and Hilal Mammadov is among those to be released! Still - there are more than 70 political prisoners left, and those will not be forgotten: Khadija Ismayilova, Intigam Aliyev, Seymur Hazi, Ilgar Mammadov and many more.

Here are the names of the pardoned today - in addition to journalist Rauf Mirgadirov who was released this morning by a decicion by the Court of Appeals:

1. Rasul Jafarov - HRD
2. Rashad Hasanov (NIDA)
3. Tofig Yagublu - opposition politician
4. Parviz Hashimli;- journalist
5. Anar Mammadli - HRD
6. Taleh Khasmamedov - HRD
7 Yadigar Mammadli- journalist
8. Nemat Panahli - opposition politician
9 Rashadat Akhundov (NIDA)
10. Hilal Mammadov - HRD
11. Mammad Azizov (NIDA)
12. Omar Mammadov (NIDA)
13. Siraj Karimov (one of the two imprisoned blogger brothers)

Khadija Ismayilova, Intigam Aliyev and Ilgar Mammadov, several other famous activists - NIDA members Ilkin Rustamzade, Abdul Abilov, journalist Seymur Hazi, youth activist Murad Adilov, Asif Yusifli and many more remain in jail. More work to do!

In photo: Anar Mammadli, human rights defender and election observer.